A Pre-school has met in the halls of St Andrew's Church since 1970. There was a gap in the mid 1990s until 2001, when Jelly Beans Pre-school was started, originally under the name of Leap Frog Pre School. In 2008,

St Andrew's Church bought Jelly Beans Pre-school and has run it ever since.


The governing panel meets six times a year and comprises of church members whose role is to support and strengthen the work of Jelly Beans. The panel also includes the Pre-school Manager and her Deputy, a staff representative and up to two parent representatives. The current Governing Panel members are:

  • Nigel Macdonald - Director Governor and Chairman

  • Rosemairi Evison - Director Governor and Vice-Chairman

  • Richard Seaton - Director Governor

  • Sue Stone - Director Governor

  • Katharyne Crosse

  • Elsje Smit

  • Michelle Dunlop

  • Svenja Doepel - Manager

  • Clare Beckett - Deputy Manager and Caterpillar Room Leader

  • Vicki Bell - Business and Finance Manager

  • Fiona Ridge - Butterfly Room Leader

  • Nicky Harvey - Staff Representative​

  • Victoria Ridge - Parent Governor

  • Sylvie Harris- Parent Governor

  • Jasmine Gillard- Parent Governor (from Sept 22)

The next governors meeting is on 15th June 2022 at 8pm.

If you are interested in being a parent governor, please speak to Svenja, Clare or Rosemairi.